In the Ramayana battle from Hindu mythology, Mahiravana, the brother of the rakshasa king Ravana, captured and took Lord Rama and his brother Lakshmana to the underworld. To kill Mahiravana, Hanuman had to extinguish five mystical lamps at once.

Hanuman took the Panchamukha form, with Hanuman, Hayagriva, Narasimha, Garuda, and Varaha faces, and successfully extinguished the lamps. Mahiravana died immediately after, and Hanuman rescued the unconscious Lord Rama and Lakshmana from a magic spell.

**SCD Balaji’s Faithlore:**

During our darkest times, Hanuman bestows the following blessings upon us through each of his five faces. These blessings help us recover from the struggles of negativity in our own minds' underworld and provide the strength needed to overcome our challenges.

Panchamukhi Hanuman's five faces represent different blessings: the face of Hanuman represents strength and bravery; the face of the horse represents speed and valor; the face of the boar represents perseverance and victory; the face of the eagle represents sharp vision and focus; and the face of the lion represents courage and power.
Illustration Style:
Introducing Neo Bengal Folk Art - a modern take on Bengal Pattachitra, inspired by Jamini Roy's work. My Illustrations feature thick and thin outlines, vivid colours, and intricate motifs. I aim to bridge the gap between the old and new, honouring our cultural heritage and pushing the boundaries of creativity.
Indian Folk Art 365:
Be part of Indian Folk Art 365 and help rediscover traditional art styles! We're creating awareness and preserving these precious art forms for years to come. Our programmes equip younger generations and art enthusiasts with ancient folk art forms, allowing them to make a difference and contribute to the renaissance of Indian Folk Visual Arts!
Explore more Indian Folk Illustrations at ​​​​​​​

You may also like

Back to Top